

BOARD OF TRUSTEES SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

Board of Trustees
Michael Allman
Kristin Gibson
Melisse Mossy
Maureen "Mo" Muir
Katrina Young

Superintendent Robert A. Haley, Ed.D.

Monday, February 1, 2021 5:00 pm

MEETING WAS HELD VIRTUALLY AND IN-PERSON AT Earl Warren Middle School 155 Stevens Avenue Solana Beach, CA 92075

The Governing Board of the San Dieguito Union High School District held a Special Meeting on Monday, February 1, 2021, virtually.

*Link to video-recording.

ATTENDANCE / BOARD OF TRUSTEES & STUDENT BOARD MEMBERS:

*Michael Allman **Devon Hollingsworth, Sunset High School

**Cassie Miller, San Dieguito High School Academy
**Melisse Mossy

**Zander Samarasinghe, Torrey Pines High School

*Maureen "Mo" Muir **Carrie Su, Canyon Crest Academy

*Katrina Young **Sarah Williams, La Costa Canyon High School

ATTENDANCE / DISTRICT MANAGEMENT:

*Robert A. Haley, Ed.D., Superintendent

- *Mark Miller, Deputy Superintendent
- *Tina Douglas, Associate Superintendent, Business Services
- *Cindy Frazee, Associate Superintendent, Human Resources
- *Bryan Marcus, Associate Superintendent, Educational Services
- *Joann Schultz, Executive Assistant to the Superintendent / Recording Secretary
- *Participated in the virtual meeting in-person at Earl Warren Middle School, 155 Stevens Avenue, Solana Beach, California, in accordance with Executive Orders N-29-20, N-33-20 and Public Health Executive Order issued on December 10, 2020.

1. CALL TO ORDER

a. Welcome / Meeting Protocol Remarks

President Muir called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m. Ms. Muir announced the public was given the opportunity to submit a request to make public comments prior to the start of the meeting.

b. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Sarah Williams led the Pledge of Allegiance.

^{**}Participated in the virtual meeting remotely.

c. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion by Ms. Young, seconded by Mr. Allman, to approve the agenda of February 1, 2021 Special Meeting of the San Dieguito Union High School District, as presented.

ADVISORY VOTE: Ayes: Hollingsworth, Miller, Samarasinghe, Su, Williams; Noes: None; Abstain: None. BOARD Ayes: Allman, Mossy, Muir, Young; Noes: None; Abstain: None; Absent: Gibson.

Motion unanimously carried.

2. CLOSED SESSION

PUBLIC COMMENTS: Comments were made by Carol Chang, Madeleine Moon, Kerily McEvoy, Jennifer Daniel-Duckering, Cynthia Rajsbaum, Michele Macosky, Matthew Davis, and Tara Curley.

The Board convened to Closed Session at 5:17 pm to discuss the following:

a. Conference with Labor Negotiators (Gov't Code Section 54957.6)

Employee Organizations: San Dieguito Faculty Association / California School Employees Association

Agency Designated Representatives: Superintendent, Deputy Superintendent, and Associate Superintendents (3)

3. REPORT OUT OF CLOSED SESSION

President Muir reconvened the meeting at 6:00 pm, and announced that there was nothing to report out from Closed Session.

4. REPORT REGARDING THE 2020-21 ACADEMIC YEAR REOPENING OF SCHOOLS, AND THE HOLDING OF EVENTS, CONSISTENT WITH THE CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH MANDATE/GUIDELINES AND THE SAN DIEGO COUNTY PUBLIC HEALTH ORDER

PUBLIC COMMENT: Comments were made by Lori Larocque, Madeleine Moon, Kerily McEvoy, April Mosebrook, Julie Bronstein, Melissa Waters, Lisa Richey, and Jason Barry.

Dr. Haley and staff provided an update on the 2020-21 reopening of schools planning.

The Board asked questions of staff and held a discussion.

President Muir recommended a subcommittee be formed to assist school sites with developing activities for senior and graduation/promotional activities (8th & 12th grades) to include two board members, Michael Allman and Melisse Mossy, principals, parent and student representatives.

President Muir recommended a communications task force be formed to improve communications to include two board members Michael Allman and Katrina Young, the two union presidents, and the reopening steering committee members which include staff and Dr. Haley.

5. Consideration of Letters of Recommendation, or Subjective Ratings, for Private Secondary Schools

PUBLIC COMMENT: Comments were made by Kerily McEvoy, Ann Cerny, Julie Bronstein, Cynthia Rajsbaum, Michele Macosky, and Jen Charat.

Dr. Haley and staff provided an update on this item.

The Board asked questions of staff and held a discussion. No action was taken.

6. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 7:58 p.m.

Kristin Gibson, Clerk

February 25, 2021

Robert A. Haley, Ed.D., Superintendent

February 25, 2021

MINUTES ADOPTED: February 25, 2021